Version 1

Luc Dekens

Title: System Engineer

Employer: Eurocontrol

Twitter: @LucD22

Blog URL and Name: http://www.lucd.info/

LinkedIn profile: www.linkedin.com/in/lucdekens/

Tell us a little about yourself:

I've been doing this for quite a few years in fact. Normal progression started over mainframe, took Linux on board, for a number of years and then finally took Windows and everything on board. I started doing virtualization early in the 2002, 2003, and that brought me to my major interest at the moment which is automation in all its forms.

What is your favorite piece of tech gear at the moment?

I have a piece of tech that I've never seen. What I mean is since a couple of years I'm renting hardware in the data center in Germany and I running part of my home lab over there. And that made a world of a change for me. I don't have any noisy servers, my electricity consumption went down and obviously this thing does whatever I want it to. I can replace the hardware every two or three years, so no I really love that possibility.

What is a current technology challenge you are facing?

I'm presently busy with automation. There's a lot of things that can be automated now-a-days, and they have a fixed number of tools and possibilities. Linking it all together so you have part of automation A over there and automation B over there and then making it fluent and integrated in a continuous integration and continuous development pipeline, that's what you're looking at at the moment. That's our hardest work at the moment.

VMs, containers, or both?

At the moment I would go for both. VM's, old friends. Been using them quite a while. Containers, new friends, started using them year or two ago. Exploring still, they have possibility but at the moment I would say my main friend is still VM's and I'm getting to know containers.

Choose an answer. The problem is always:

1. DNS
    2. The network in general
    3. The storage
    4. The users