13 Replies Latest reply: Jan 2, 2012 12:48 AM by robinsc RSS

Create ASM diskgroup on exadata

Hi All,
      I am new to Exadata. I would like to create a database on Exadata sever. I am working on Quarter RAC.
      Please can I know how to create ASM disk group on ASM.

Also how to check the space on Exadata. Is there any documentation which list commands/syntax to check on space, creating disk group etc.

I cannot see any space when doing df -h

[reidm@dm01db01 ~]$ echo $ORACLE_HOME
      /u01/app/oracle/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1
      [reidm@dm01db01 ~]$ df -h
      Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
      /dev/mapper/VGExaDb-LVDbSys1
      30G 16G 13G 56% /
      /dev/sda1 124M 19M 99M 17% /boot
      /dev/mapper/VGExaDb-LVDbOra1
      99G 21G 73G 23% /u01
      tmpfs 81G 196M 81G 1% /dev/shm
      /dev/sdb1 3.8G 3.5G 303M 93% /mnt/usb

The machine config is
      [reidm@dm01db01 ~]$ uname -a
      Linux dm01db01.uklond6.savvis.net 2.6.18-238.12.2.0.2.el5 #1 SMP Tue Jun 28 05:21:19 EDT 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Thanks,
      R
        • 1. Re: Create ASM diskgroup on exadata
          P.Forstmann
          You should able to use most of SQL statements for ASM documented in http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/server.112/e18951/toc.htm but I am not 100% sure. Exadata documentation is not publicly available but you should have a copy with installation media.

Better post to Exadata dedicated forum: Exadata
          • 2. Re: Create ASM diskgroup on exadata
            I have created ASM diskgroups using dbca

Steps:
            1. Type dbca on the terminal. This will open DB configuration Assitant.
            2.Chose ASM(Configure Automatic Storage management ) option
            a. it may pop up mesg for configuring CSS.path of the script is also given.Execute it with root privileges.
            3.Click on create New
            4.Then click on show eligible candidates(It will show the eligible candidates)