5 Replies Latest reply: Dec 5, 2011 12:08 PM by laurelH RSS

Upgrading Alternatives (Upgrading from 11.2.0.1 to 11.2.0.3)

laurelH
      I am a junior DBA in the process of planning an upgrade from RHEL 5 64bit 11.2.0.1 to 11.2.0.3

I have read through the various documents and notes on the upgrade process and have come up with the step below.

Grid Infrastructure Patches

1.     Patch the release 11.1 Oracle Clusterware home with the patch for bug 7308467. (p7308467_111070_Linux-x86.zip)

2.     Patch the release 11.2.0.1 Oracle Grid Infrastructure home (11.2.0.1.0) with the 9706490 patch. (p9706490_112010_Linux-x86-64.zip)

ASM Bug Patches

1. Patch 12539000: 11203:ASM UPGRADE FAILED ON FIRST NODE WITH ORA-03113 (p12539000_112021_Linux-x86-64.zip)

Upgrade Grid Infrastructure and the database

1.     Do and out of place upgrade and invoke runInstaller which will automaticall involke DBUA to upgrade Grid Infrastructure and the database.

ALTERNATIVE PLAN

I have presented the plan to our database consultant and have been advised that the best and simplest way to proceed is to.

1.     Backup the database (logical / Physical)
      2.     Backup the Oracle Home
      3.     De-install GI and the database
      4.     Perform a new install of GI and the DB
      5.     Apply differences in spfie/pfile
      6.     Restore the database.

I asked why people bother to go through the upgrade process and didn’t feel I got a satisfactory answer.
      I was referred to the analogy of re-installing or upgrading Windows on a P.C ( I would re-install by the way)

Can someone please tell me why one way is better that the other and in which cases you would chose re-installation over an upgrade.

Thanks in advanced for your comments.
        • 1. Re: Upgrading Alternatives (Upgrading from 11.2.0.1 to 11.2.0.3)
          Brian Bontrager
          I was referred to the analogy of re-installing or upgrading Windows on a P.C