This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 5, 2013 2:38 AM by ThomasLassauniere RSS

Unable to stop ManagedServer WLS_FORMS1 with nmKill Command

846644 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I'm a WebLogic Newbie and have the following problem with stopping a Managed server with NodeManager.

When I try to stop the managed server WLS_FORMS1 (or WLS_REPORTS1) with NodeManager using the command nmKill() I don't get any response apart from the message "Killing server WLS_FORMS1 ...". From that point on nothing happens any further. The command execution seems to be stuck.

The only message displayed in the log file WLS_FORMS1.out following the nmKill command is
<FINEST> <NodeManager> <Waiting for the process to die: null>

The Server WLS_FORMS1 is part of the cluster CLUSTER_FORMS but resides on another machine than the AdminServer. Using nmStart works fine for this managed server. Only nmKill doesn't seem to work. If I use nmKill to stop managed servers that reside on the same machine as the AdminServer like WLS_FORMS this works fine too. Also starting and stopping the server WLS_FORMS1 through the WebLogic Console works without any problems, so the NodeManager is apparently working.

I'm using WebLogicServer 10.3.5 with Oracle Froms and Reports 11g Release 2 on Windows Server 2008 R2 64bit.

Any help would be much appreciated.
  • 1. Re: Unable to stop ManagedServer WLS_FORMS1 with nmKill Command
    890402 Newbie
    Hi,

If you are trying to stop managed sever try from console. Since managed server is configured to nodemanger.

Thanks
    Akash
  • 2. Re: Unable to stop ManagedServer WLS_FORMS1 with nmKill Command
    846644 Newbie
    Hi Akash,

yes, that works as I've already mentioned in my initial post. However, that's not my problem. I want to get the nmKill command working (e.g. to use it in custom scripts).

Regards,
    Charlie
  • 3. Re: Unable to stop ManagedServer WLS_FORMS1 with nmKill Command
    903804 Newbie