1 2 3 Previous Next 36 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2011 3:04 PM by Martin Brambley Go to original post
      • 30. Re: is it safe to re-install vm server - need help all envs down
        Martin Brambley
        thanks

i can only see the respositories tab if i click on the server pools - if i was a reqular ovm admin that might be second nature but i just want to use the environments running on it

anyway thank you for all your help

1) would you reinstall the manager using the 302 media now (i used 301 to 302)
        2) why did i need to do this anyway? isnt it a little flakey?

regards
        • 31. Re: is it safe to re-install vm server - need help all envs down
          Avi Miller-Oracle
          Martin Brambley wrote:
          1) would you reinstall the manager using the 302 media now (i used 301 to 302)
          No, why would you want to reinstall again?
          Not really. You reinstalled the Manager, so the repository was empty. Rediscovering the server brought back in all the server, pool and networking config. Reconfiguring the storage brought back in the storage arrays. If you left things alone, it would all get rediscovered over time, but I was just triggering things to happen quicker for you, so you're back online.
          • 32. Re: is it safe to re-install vm server - need help all envs down
            Martin Brambley
            Avi

on a related note that may well screw things up again - i notice it says i have 80 cores now - whereas i only have 40 so hyperthreading must be enabled for the chips

1) is this a good idea? shall i turn it off?
            2) if i turn it off will that cause all these problems again (changing the cpus is what cuased this in the first place)
            3) what happens if you assign an odd number of vcpus to a guest in the HT world - if i gave 5 to a guest it allows it but i cannot use only half an HT core in reality

Again thanks in advance