This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2012 8:57 PM by jim.marion RSS

Help with Peoplesoft OVM - HCM 9.1

855645 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi ,

I am very new to the Virtual machine world...So please bear with any of my questions which might be silly to others....

I have both working Redhat Linux and Windows 2008 server environments ... I just want to have a working Peoplesoft HCM app deployed on any of them(everything in a single machine) for demo purpose. 250 GB HDD / 8 GB RAM. Which machine (windows / unix) is recommended for this?

I have downloaded the Peoplesoft HCM templates from edelivery of oracle (DB template, Apps/Tools template) . All the steps documented in the Oracle technical paper starts from the deployment of these peoplesoft templates and it talks little about the installation of Oracle VM server / Manager. The steps of PSHCM template deployment are clear. But i dont how to start with VM Server / VM Manager in my case.

I have downloaded the iso files from edelivery for Oracle VM (manager, server 3.3 pack) . I have explored the oracle doc (http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11081_01/doc/doc.21/e10899/ovsig.htm) for the same ..but not able to understand the process...

a) is it mandatory to have Oracle VM Server...I think it is trying to install another linux ....in my case, i have already working linux environment, why again do i need to install another linux environment on top? Cant i directly install Oracle VM manager on top of my existing Redhat Linux and deploy PSHCM templates after that?

If no (i.e Oracle VM Server needs to be installed before VM Manager), With a iso image downloaded from oracle, how to install Oracle VM server on my existing Redhat linux ? (pls give steps). How many partitions do i need to make etc?

b) Cant i use any softwares like Virtual box or VM ware to open the PS-HCM images ?