This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 31, 2013 1:04 AM by 988282 RSS

Errors when importing data from .xls - help decipher log messages?

912567 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new to oracle, been trying to learn with sql developer 1.5.5, on a win7 machine. I have a set of data (16,000 rows) in a .xls file that I need to import to my databse. I've been getting Logging Page messages that give me the following information:

type:
"SEVERE"

source:
"o.d.r.models.EditableResultSetTableModel$1"

I now have 95 of these messages and counting, each of them show a different value for Elapsed, googling the source gave me nothing, and I'm not sure what to search for for help. Can anyone tell me what this error means, and what caused it? Is there a simple resource describing these erors? Can I change the verbosity of the Log to give me more helpful information?

Thanks,
eskimo9
  • 1. Re: Errors when importing data from .xls - help decipher log messages?
    Irian Pro
    Well 1.5.5 is quite old, current stable version is 3.0 and there are EAs for 3.1

Before doing anything else I would update to at least 3.0, many enhancements were made in time and the export/import functionality was completely rewritten also to improve error logging.
  • 2. Re: Errors when importing data from .xls - help decipher log messages?
    912567 Newbie
    OK, so I now have SQL Developer 3.1. I had assumed that when I installed Oracle Database 11g, it would install the latest versions of everything that came with it, apparently that was a dud assumption :/

The new error I get, which is way more helpful, is:

Source:
    o.d.r.data.writers.ImportGenerator$SchemaTaskListener

Import data into table CUSTOMER from file BBFReightCustomerBase.xls. Task failed and import rolled back.

and also,

Source:
    o.d.r.backgroundTask.utils.DatabaseQueryTask