7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2012 9:30 PM by 882314 RSS

Custom Transformation Scripts

Hi,

I am very new to data modeler, so excuse me for my ignorant questions..
      These Custom Transformation Scripts functionality is very powerful, I can see that. But writing these things is a .. let's say less enjoyable.
      I know of the /datamodeler/datamodeler/xmlmetadata/doc/index.html documentation, but coming from a database development background - it is not an easy task to get my head around it.

Anyway... what I want to do is add triggers to my tables. They all have a similar template (fill the ID with the nextval of a sequence and fill the Created_by and Created_date columns).

How to do this?

Thanks,
      Alex
        • 1. Re: Custom Transformation Scripts
          Philip Stoyanov-Oracle
          Hi Alex,

Here are the steps how I'll do it if I have to create something with scripting
          1) to create the object using DM UI and save the design - in this case 1 table and 1 trigger in physical model, set needed properties for the trigger
          2) find the trigger definition into file system - you need actions, body, triggerTime and table properties - well owner also can be set
          3) find description for trigger in HTML documentation - you can see set method for each property
          4) find how to create trigger - physical model (StorageDesign class) is responsible for that - you need StorageDesign for Oracle - looking at collections (OracleTreggers collection) you'll see that method is createTriggerOracle
          5) physical model has to be open in order get the job done - that physical model has to be set as RDBMS site to your relational model
          6) you need tables in physical model - again back in collections of storageDesign - OracleTables and method is getTableProxySet()
          function setBody(tableName,seqName,trigger){