This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 27, 2012 5:36 PM by 920287 RSS

Foreign Key Invalid Identifier Error

920287 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi Folks,

I am new to the Oracle environment, and am trying to create the below tables for a university project. I checked with the professor, and he is okay with me consulting the Oracle forum on issues that I am having.

So far, PATIENT_IDENTIFICATION, LAB_INFORMATION, EXPERIMENTAL_DRUG_TRIAL_DATA, and STUDY_INFORMATION have been made without issues. For the other three tables, (VITAL_SIGNS, AE_SAE, and STAFF_TIME_CARD), I need to reference foreign keys from the aforementioned created tables, but I keep getting the error "ERROR at line 1:
ORA-00904: : invalid identifier" issue when trying to run the CREATE statement. I know that the syntax for the STAFF_TIME_CARD fk is wrong - I only worked on the ones for VITAL_SIGNS and AE_SAE so far, but any help would be appreciated.

Sorry in case this is in the wrong forum or area - any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks!

1 CREATE TABLE PATIENT_IDENTIFICATION (patientID CHAR(5) PRIMARY KEY, race NVARCHAR2(10), height CHAR(2), weight CHAR(3), ethnicity NVARCHAR2(10), dateOfBirth DATE, childbearingStatus NVARCHAR2(2), gender NVARCHAR2(1), dateOfInformedConsent DATE, affectedSystem NVARCHAR2(15), startDate DATE, endDate DATE, issueStatus NVARCHAR2(15), diagnosis NVARCHAR2(20));
3 Table created.
6 CREATE TABLE LAB_INFORMATION (labID CHAR(5) PRIMARY KEY, testStatus NVARCHAR2(10), labValues CHAR(10), collectionData NVARCHAR2(15), labAddress NVARCHAR2(50), studyLocations NVARCHAR2(50));
8 Table created.
11 CREATE TABLE VITAL_SIGNS (uid INTEGER PRIMARY KEY, FOREIGN KEY (patientID) REFERENCES PATIENT_IDENTIFICATION(patientID), temperature CHAR(3), respirations CHAR(2), pulse CHAR(3), bloodPressure NVARCHAR2(7));