7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 5, 2012 4:44 AM by 998899-Oracle RSS

How to expose the id of the master to the detail

998899-Oracle
      I have a master view say Employee and a detail view say EmpJobs which is a full join of both employee and jobs so that i get all the employee id and jobs id in one single view.

My problem is that when the employee id already exiting in Employee table the detail view shows me all the pairs of employee id and jobs id.

But in case of new insert the EmpJobs does not show me any values. Once i finish committing the data in employee table which is the master, it gives me all the pairs if i reload the page again. But i want to show all the pairs when ever create insert is pressed on the employee table.

The id is generated using oracle.jbo.server.uniqueid.UniqueIdHelper.nextId

Is There a way to do it?

Thanks in advance

I am using jdeveloper 11g release 2
        • 1. Re: How to expose the id of the master to the detail
          ramandeep singh - oracle
          You will have a reference column for the master row use that column to display the data you want to.
          • 2. Re: How to expose the id of the master to the detail
            998899-Oracle
            hi,
            Ya employee id is the link between the two.
            Actually what is happening is when i create insert on the master i.e employee an id is generated and this id is available in the child on employeeid column.

But it is not showing all the available jobid in the full join view only after i commit it is being fetched from the database
            • 3. Re: How to expose the id of the master to the detail
              ramandeep singh - oracle
              Is it temporary id ? If that is the case the id will be temporary only. Are you using trigger based primary key for the master? If not you could also override the createandinsert action and pass the primary key value that you generated into
              createAndInitRow(NameValuePairs nvps)