14 Replies Latest reply: Mar 23, 2012 5:13 AM by 902483 RSS

Get strings lenght from txt file and put string num and its lenght in log

Hello. I am a newbie in Java. Could you help to write a programm which looks into txt file, calculates the lenght of every string from the file and log the results?

For example, there is test.txt file located on d:\temp\test.txt
      Is consists of:
      54545 45

I need to receive d:\temp\test_log.txt which include:
      1 string lenght = 3
      2 string lenght = 5
      3 string lenght = 8
      4 string lenght = 1

My problem is that i have not enough experience in Java and I just know the parts of this programm:

1. I can read file line by line:
      import java.io.*;
      class FileRead
      {
      public static void main(String args[])
           {
      try{
                FileInputStream fstream = new FileInputStream("d:\\temp\\test.txt");
                DataInputStream in = new DataInputStream(fstream);
      BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(in));
                String strLine;
                //Read File Line By Line
                while ((strLine = br.readLine()) != null)      {
                     // Print the content on the console
                     System.out.println (strLine);
                }
                //Close the input stream
                in.close();
                }catch (Exception e){//Catch exception if any
                     System.err.println("Error: " + e.getMessage());
                }
           }
      }

2. Calculate string lenght:

public class StringLengthExample {
           public static void main(String[] args) {
           String string = "Count ";
           int stringlength = string.length();
           System.out.println("String lenght = "+stringlength);
           }
      }

3. and write the text to file:

public class RedirectSystemOut {
           public static void main(String[] args) throws FileNotFoundException {