4 Replies Latest reply: May 21, 2012 1:55 AM by 645740 RSS

Materialized View Concept

Hi,

I am a newbie in Oracle materialized view. What is the difference between materialized view and materized view log? I setup the materialized view by the following steps in Oracle 11gR2.

Step 1:
      On master site, I create user TEST and create a testing table by
      CREATE TABLE XYZ
      (
      XX NUMBER,
      YY VARCHAR2(50 BYTE) ,
      ZZ NUMBER
      )

LOGGING
      NOCACHE
      NOPARALLEL;

Step 2:
      On destination site (Oracle 11gR2), I create a dblink (LinkABC), user TEST1 and create a materialized view by
      CREATE MATERIALIZED VIEW MV_XYZ
      TABLESPACE USERS
      NOCACHE
      LOGGING
      NOPARALLEL
      REFRESH FORCE
      START WITH TO_DATE('12-MAR-2012 12:18:04','dd-mon-yyyy hh24:mi:ss')
      NEXT SYSDATE + 1/144
      AS
      SELECT "XX","YY","ZZ"
      FROM XYZ@LinkABC;
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      After the setup, I can select the data from MV_XYZ when table XYZ is updated.

Now, I have the following questions
      1. Why I do setup the materialized view log and it works?
      2. What is the purpose of materialized view log (CREATE MATERIALIZED VIEW LOG ON ......)? Where I have to apply (master or destination site)?
      3. When will I apply utlxmv.sql and DBMS_MVIEW.EXPLAIN_MVIEW(.....)?

Anyone can I help to clarify? Thank you so much!

Ming
        • 1. Re: Materialized View Concept
          NikolayIvankin
          user12360077 wrote:

Now, I have the following questions
          1. Why I do setup the materialized view log and it works?
          When you want to use FAST REFRESH of MView.
          2. What is the purpose of materialized view log (CREATE MATERIALIZED VIEW LOG ON ......)? Where I have to apply (master or destination site)?