This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 15, 2012 8:34 AM by 877434 RSS

In need of opinion - desktop shortcut, security warning.

877434 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have gone through tons of stuff from igor, nancy, jsmith, weaver, jasper, giles, etc..
I'm just a designer on my team but we had just started using javafx 1.3 last year when 2.0 came out.
We have our app running javafx2 in the browser or by web start link, but from a user experience I really want the drag app to drop on the desktop, close browser to create a desktop shortcut action back.
We had it in fx 1.3 but the programmers tell me that it just isn't available in fx 2.0.
Is that true? I can't get a shortcut created any more? or are there maybe an alternative work around they haven't thought of?

Also since I have attention, we always get the security warning popup "The application's digital signature cannot be verified" on start up.
I would love to get rid of that. If I read correctly, even if we pay for a certificate it still pops just with our name.
We persist application info like the users theme and we allow paste in textboxes, but that's it.
I read that we can't run in sandbox if we are using "local filesystem" or "system clipboard", but I want to be sure that's why we are getting the warning.

Thoughts?
  • 1. Re: In need of opinion - desktop shortcut, security warning.
    805536 Journeyer
    This probably isn't compatible since it was based on the AWT plugin while JavaFX uses an all new one, but you could try testing the parameter described here for draggable applets: http://java.sun.com/developer/technicalArticles/javase/6u10_applets/

If it doesn't work, your best bet would be to file a Request For Enhancement here: http://javafx-jira.kenai.com/
  • 2. Re: In need of opinion - desktop shortcut, security warning.
    jsmith Guru
    Thanks for your questions Gecko.