7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2012 9:10 AM by User171873 RSS

Solaris 10 Installation on ZFS

Hi,

I have a lot of experience with ZFS, but have never used it for a Root BE. I am considering moving some of my systems to a Root ZFS BE, but I am wondering what my future 'upgrade' options will be.

Is it possible to 'live upgrade', but by using an installation DVD rather than the 'patch cluster'? traditionally, I have always used SVM for my host boot disks, but I think that if its possible to 'install' the newest release into a ZFS BE, then this will be a lot easier for upgrading to the latest and greatest.

If this is possible, does that mean that it is effectively possible to 'multi-boot' my sparc box to whichever Solaris 10 release I would like to use, (this may be useful for version testing software against different Solaris 10 releases for example!)

Any advice, that you can give me on this would be appreciated!

~Robbo~
        • 1. Re: Solaris 10 Installation on ZFS
          Johntz-Oracle
          Hi,

Yes, that is the main functionality of Live upgrade....and with ZFS it's much faster as it creates a snapshot of the original BE. You can also "zpool split" to split off a mirror into a new pool (or rpool)...

And yes, you can have many boot environments which you can luactivate and boot....

rgrds

johntz
          • 2. Re: Solaris 10 Installation on ZFS
            Thanks Johntz,

I was hoping that would be the case.

I assume that by using 'zfs split', one is able to clone a system onto a new piece of hardware; will this split mirror be 'bootable' or does it need to have the bootblocks installed or anything else done to point to the new BE?