This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply: Nov 27, 2012 12:54 PM by 921903 RSS

problem passing special characters from one page to another, APEX 4.1

921903 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am passing values from one page to another. when I pass values with special characters, the value is messed up on the receiving page. Here's an example. Original value is "120030/2012-04" and value on the receiving page "120030%2F2012-04". How do I resolve this.
  • 1. Re: problem passing special characters from one page to another, APEX 4.1
    Bob37 Pro
    Enclose the string in backslashes

pass it as \120030/2012-04\
  • 2. Re: problem passing special characters from one page to another, APEX 4.1
    921903 Newbie
    Thans for your quick response. I am a newbie to APEX. I passed the values in the "Action when button clicked" section of the calling page using

set these items (P37_DOCKET_NUM,P37_PO_NUM)
    with these values(&P37_DOCKET_NUM.,&P37_PO_NUM.)

How do I do what you suggested in this case.
  • 3. Re: problem passing special characters from one page to another, APEX 4.1
    Bob37 Pro
    Try this
    set these items (P37_DOCKET_NUM,P37_PO_NUM)
    with these values(\&P37_DOCKET_NUM.\,\&P37_PO_NUM.\)
    It may not apply in this case for you, but it is good practice to pass as little information through URL's as possible. Meaning that if you can pass some key identifier that will allow you to do a query on the page you are redirecting to and look up the other information that you want on the new page, that is the preferred method.
  • 4. Re: problem passing special characters from one page to another, APEX 4.1
    trent Expert
    Hi,