This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Mar 29, 2012 6:16 AM by fac586 RSS

Porting PHP application to Apex - issue

927056 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
I have a PHP application that I'm thinking to port to Apex. Since I am new to Apex I'm trying to find solutions to all the problems I think I could encounter.

One problem for which I found no solution yet is that, at some point, I need to let the user print a certificate (picture) wich has some blank spaces. The user has to introduce, let's say, their name and ocupation into some textboxes on a form. After submitting, I need to put the info on the certificate and give the possibility to print it.

In PHP I can use GD to write the text to an image but I couldn't find any info regarding this in Apex.

So, if any of you have an idea on how can I achieve this in Apex or if you know a plugin or anothe workaround I could use please help me.

Thank you!

Edited by: 924053 on 28.03.2012 10:05
  • 1. Re: Porting PHP application to Apex - issue
    trent Expert
    Can't you just have a div, with the css property background-image set. Then any text just goes over the top - just need to position the text correctly; may need a bit of fiddling to get it right.

Also, there is the z-index property you could use to overlay elements. http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_pos_z-index.asp
  • 2. Re: Porting PHP application to Apex - issue
    927056 Newbie
    I considered this too but it won't work for me since I will have two sections to fill in the certificate and one of them is rotated at 90 degrees so the text must be written vertically. And no, I cannot split the two sections of the picture.

Thanks for the hint!
  • 3. Re: Porting PHP application to Apex - issue
    Christian Neumueller Expert
    Hi 924053,

you can use Oracle Multimedia for image manipulation within the database, see e.g.

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/appdev.112/e10776/ch_imgref.htm