7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 1, 2012 7:55 AM by Seberg RSS

Database - Application crashing

Dear All,

I am new to Oracle DBA work, so the below mentined issues are simple for you all.

We are facing one issue here. We have database with version in Linux server and an Application running on Win 2003 is connecting to Database. Connection is happening through Terminal server.

While users working on the application,some time the application window is crashing and the user has to connect to application again and he has to enter all the data if he didn't submit. But the same time other users can access the applciation and do their transaction.Could anyone please help , how to track the queries happening in database and If I get the queries then i can run the same from SQL promt directly.

1- > Please help me to find the queries running by users.
      2- > Any other mothods I can track this issue

• 1. Re: Database - Application crashing
          Satish Kandi
          Based on the information that has been given here, it does not seem like the database is the causing the application to crash.

Since you are referring to a terminal server, I would suspect resource crunch on that server itself.
          • 2. Re: Database - Application crashing
            Clarify what you mean by "connecting through terminal server? " If you have an app server, you need to configure an oracle client on the app server to point at the database (usually TNS/JDBC). this app server will have logs

Can you check the application logs at those time of the crash to see what its doing, narrow it down to a module, refer to developers and ask what that module does regards SQL?

If youre new to DBAing, I wouldnt recommend tracing on the database just yet as you have many many concepts to go through to get there.
            • 3. Re: Database - Application crashing