6 Replies Latest reply: Apr 13, 2012 1:33 PM by damorgan RSS

Connect Problems with Oracle Database Express Edition 11g Release 2

WD
      Hello,

I am a student trying to install Oracle Database Express Edition 11g Release 2 and SQL Developer on my home system, Win7 64Bit, in order to practice some things I've learned from me DBA class and Developer classes.

Anyway, I have everything installed, but I am having difficulty connecting as SYS or SYSDBA in the 'Run SQL Command Line', I keep getting the ORA-01017: invalid username/password: logon denied.

However, If i select the 'Start Database' I get this:

C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\product\11.2.0\server\bin>

and I can type sqlplus / as sysdba and it starts up just fine and show user lists me as "SYS".

but if I go back to 'Run SQL Command Line' I still cannot connect as SYS or SYSDBA...I find this both confusing and frustrating. I don't know if I am in different instances or something like that, but I seem to be limited to connecting only as "SYSTEM". I need SYS because I want to practice creating datafiles, instances and things like that, but I seem to be lost.

Also, I am trying to create a new DB connection with SQL Developer and I can only us SYSTEM for my login which, if I understand correctly, will limit my privileges. Again When I try to sign in with SYS or SYSDBA I get error'd out. When I installed Ora11gDBExpress I was prompted in input a single password that was supposed to grant me access as SYS or SYSTEM, but I am limited to only SYSTEM for some reason.

So, I am looking for help/guidance as to what to do.

Thanks in advance for any and all help,

Warren
        • 1. Re: Connect Problems with Oracle Database Express Edition 11g Release 2
          clcarter
          General rule of thumb, don't use sysdba unless you want to shut down the database, or grant a database user privileges on a sys object.