This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 17, 2012 7:43 AM by 930640 RSS

Need help exporting unique variable string for later reuse

930640 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
For a functional testing web test of a Oracle e-Business Suite 11i application in the i-Procurement module, I'll need to variablize text fields for filling out initial information and extract the confirmation number from the string object "Requisition (unique sixteen digit alphnumeric string)" for use in the next test step and other tests. I prefer using databanks since it automatically maps the variables and doesn't require programming. I'm new to Openscript and definitely not a programmer.

I need to know the **detailed functions/steps** to perform the following:

Step #1 - Find the confirmation number in the string (extract partial string)
Step #2 - Set the confirmation number to a variable
Step #3 - Use the confirmation number variable in the next step
Step #4 - Save the confirmation number to a databank file for each iteration

Thanks,

CM
  • 1. Re: Need help exporting unique variable string for later reuse
    834498 Journeyer
    Hello CM

Step #1 - Find the confirmation number in the string (extract partial string)
    Use "Object test" (toolbar) during recording or afterwards to discover the object type/name/path and attributes

Step #2 - Set the confirmation number to a variable
    Insert a "Store attribute" on the desired object (if it is a textfield, add -> other -> Web Action -> TextField ->> Store Attribute)

Step #3 - Use the confirmation number variable in the next step
    Once you have done #2, you can use the variable anywhere in the script later on

Step #4 - Save the confirmation number to a databank file for each iteration
    Why do you want to do so?
    To write to a file, it could require a bit of scripting

Hope this helps. This is not exact, but reading the doc and trying by yourself should be enough

JB