3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 18, 2012 7:44 PM by 931305 RSS

General JPA query question

Hello world,

I'm new to JPA 2.0 and there are few things I don't understand.

BTW: I can't figure out the keywords to search for this question, so please pardon me if it's one of the most asked.

Using the Preview, I've seen that alignment went straight to Hell, so I tried to make this as readable as I could using pipes in place of white spaces in the result sets.

I have a couple of tables:

CUST table (for customers):

CUST_ID (pk, integer)
      CUST_NAME (varchar)

ORD table (for orders):

ORD_ID (pk, integer)
      ORD_STATUS (char) can be: N for new, S for shipped, D for delivered
      CUST_ID (fk, integer)

The relationship is, of course, a "one to many" (every customer can place many orders).

Content of the tables:

Here's how I annotated my classes:

@Entity(name = "Customer")
      @Table(name = "CUST")
      public class Customer implements Serializable
      private static final long serialVersionUID = 1L;

@Column(name = "CUST_ID")
      private Integer id;

@Column(name = "CUST_NAME")
      private String name;

@OneToMany(mappedBy = "customer")
      private List<Order> orders;

// Default constructor, getters and setters (no annotations on these)

@Entity(name = "Order")
      @Table(name = "ORD")
      public class Order implements Serializable
      private static final long serialVersionUID = 1L;

@Column(name = "ORD_ID")
      private Integer id;

@Column(name = "ORD_STATUS")
      private Character status;

@JoinColumn(name = "CUST_ID", referencedColumnName = "CUST_ID")
      private Customer customer;

// Default constructor, getters and setters (no annotations on these)

Everything works just fine, the following JPQL query yields the results I expected:

select c from Customer c

it returns three objects of type Customer, each of which contains the orders that belong to that customer.