This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Apr 19, 2012 5:24 AM by 796440 RSS

USING RMI FOR REAL WORLD NETWORK APPLICATIONS

931685 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
As a programmer i am very confortable using RMI network approach in java in developing distributed applications. I would like to know if RMI could be used to develop secure real world systems. and how effective it is to use RMI over sockets. please i need an urgent response. Thanks alot.
  • 1. Re: USING RMI FOR REAL WORLD NETWORK APPLICATIONS
    796440 Guru
    928682 wrote:
    please i need an urgent response.
    Your urgency has no relevance here. Mentioning it is 100% guaranteed not to get you an answer any faster, and may actually delay getting you an answer. For example, I usually make it a point NOT to help people who use words like "urgent" or "ASAP" in their question.
  • 2. Re: USING RMI FOR REAL WORLD NETWORK APPLICATIONS
    EJP Guru
    I would like to know if RMI could be used to develop secure real world systems.
    Yes.
    and how effective it is to use RMI over sockets.
    Yes. RMI works over sockets. In fact it doesn't work any other way.

Feel free to ask a real question.
  • 3. Re: USING RMI FOR REAL WORLD NETWORK APPLICATIONS
    931685 Newbie
    I am very sorry if mite have sounded very immature in the way i posted the question into the forum. I gues i should have stated the reason y it is urgent. i am suppose to develop a network application for a company. Among all the network approach to programming in java language, i find RMI most friendly cos it gives me so much flexibility, but i want to just be such that RMI as an approach could be used cos while i was reading on RMI i learn it could only work in the java environment unlike the corba applications. Well if there is anytin u could inform me about, i would really appreciate. Anyway thanks for the correction you earlier stated i really appreciate.
  • 4. Re: USING RMI FOR REAL WORLD NETWORK APPLICATIONS