4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 24, 2012 12:01 AM by 932466 RSS

Passing Ref Cursor to Oracle Stored Procedure Via C#

Hi all,
      I am new to oracle and stuck with an issue. I have three insert stored procedures for three different tables. Two of them have multiple rows to be inserted, which is currently done via iterating through each row and insert to db in C# code. My requirement is to merge these three procedures in one and instead of iterating from C# code send table rows as (ref cursor or collection) to procedure and the procedure will handle the rest.

I read that ref cursor only works if you're data is in database as it reference the memory but in my case data is build on client side.
      I am using Oracle 11i and ASP.Net 2.0

Can any help me on this please?

Edited by: 929463 on Apr 23, 2012 12:38 AM
        • 1. Re: Passing Ref Cursor to Oracle Stored Procedure Via C#
          Paul  Horth
          A simple Google search would have shown you:

http://www.dotnetforce.com/Content.aspx?t=a&n=243
          • 2. Re: Passing Ref Cursor to Oracle Stored Procedure Via C#
            BluShadow
            929463 wrote:
            Hi all,
            I am new to oracle and stuck with an issue. I have three insert stored procedures for three different tables. Two of them have multiple rows to be inserted, which is currently done via iterating through each row and insert to db in C# code. My requirement is to merge these three procedures in one and instead of iterating from C# code send table rows as (ref cursor or collection) to procedure and the procedure will handle the rest.

I read that ref cursor only works if you're data is in database as it reference the memory but in my case data is build on client side.
            I am using Oracle 11i and ASP.Net 2.0

Can any help me on this please?