This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Apr 24, 2012 2:21 PM by 931605 RSS

weblogic, eclipse plugin, ServletContextListener

931605 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new to weblogic and I'm testing some existing tomcat code that's showing some strange behavior inside of eclipse. When I right click in the servers window and debug a weblogic test project I see contextInitialized called twice. During the first call I see some of the api's fail whereas the second call seems to run ok. Is there any way to prevent the two calls? When I launch tomcat, contextInitialized is called once so I would like the same thing to happen inside of weblogic. I know I could go w/ the application life cycle listener but for now I would like to keep the code in the current form. Just to make it clear, this code is called twice:

public class ContextLoaderListener implements ServletContextListener
{
public void contextInitialized(ServletContextEvent contextEvent)
{
// called twice, how to skip the first call?
}
}

is there a way to check a property or make a call so that the code only runs twice.

An example of where this causes problems is when I register a bean during startup:

call 1: ( beanServer.addNotificationListener(...) )

INFO: registerNotificationListenerInternal: watchRuntimeName = com.bea:ServerRuntime=AdminServer,Name=DiagnosticsJMXNotificationSource,Type=WLDFWatchJMXNotificationRuntime,WLDFWatchNotificationRuntime=WatchNotification,WLDFRuntime=WLDFRuntime>
####<Apr 18, 2012 1:47:05 PM CDT> <Notice> <StdErr> <BUSTX05NLKVB231> <AdminServer> <[ACTIVE] ExecuteThread: '0' for queue: 'weblogic.kernel.Default (self-tuning)'> <<WLS Kernel>> <> <> <1334774825919> <BEA-000000> <Apr 18, 2012 1:47:05 PM com.verizon.vidaas.metrics.MetricsManager registerNotificationListenerInternal