This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Apr 27, 2012 7:04 AM by the_assface RSS

Application not getting RETIRED in Side-by-Side Deployment

ltom Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I'm deploying an application using Side-by-Side deployment without specifying the retire timeout value (i.e. Allow the application to finish its current sessions and then retire.). The new application is getting deployed and is in ACTIVE state but the old application is in "Stop Running" state and not getting RETIRED even after all sessions have been processed. I have waited for an hour and still the state is "Stop Running".

The above scenario happens only when the application is in use and the SBS deployment happens parallel.

Thanks,
lTom
  • 1. Re: Application not getting RETIRED in Side-by-Side Deployment
    856413 Newbie
    Can you please share the steps to do the same, as I am new to this.

Thanks in advance.
  • 2. Re: Application not getting RETIRED in Side-by-Side Deployment
    ltom Newbie
    Hi,

Please find the steps below.

Consider i'm deploying an app WebApp_v2 and the currently deployed app in WebApp_v1.

1. Launch the Web app (WebApp_v1)
    2. Deploy the new app (WebApp_v2) using Side-by-Side deployment without and retire timeout set.
    3. Launch the new Web app (WebApp_v2) in a new window.
    4. Now we have 2 sessions of the application open, one with new code(WebApp_v2) and other with old(WebApp_v1).
    5. Close the session which was opened before deployment (ie. WebApp_v1)
    5. Check the state of the apps in Weblogic console.
    6. WebApp_v1 should be in RETIRED state and the WebApp_v2 in ACTIVE state.

Thanks,
    lTom
  • 3. Re: Application not getting RETIRED in Side-by-Side Deployment
    ltom Newbie
    The application is getting RETIRED after a long time.
  • 4. Re: Application not getting RETIRED in Side-by-Side Deployment
    794514 Pro
    Hi Itom,