This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 30, 2012 10:26 AM by 933548 RSS

Someone please help a complete beginner with Enterprise Manager!

933548 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Question moved from
Someone please help a complete beginner with Enterprise Manager!

Please be gentle with me, I'm absolutely new to all this. We don't have a proper DBA and I've been tasked with the role. There is no-one else in the company with oracle experience and we don't have any support. Until now I've just used enterprise manager to manage the database, but now I have a problem..

We are using Windows Server 2003 and Oracle 10g. I (stupidly) installed some network monitoring software on our server (PRTG network monitor). I almost immediately uninstalled it and all components/registry settings, but it seems to have thrown something out regards the OEM web interface.

We used to access the OEM GUI through http://<hostname>:5500/em, but after installing/uninstalling the network monitor software the OEM webpage would only stay up for a few minutes, before saying 'Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage'. Restarting the DBconsole in services fixed the problem, but again, only for a few minutes.

Spent all day yesterday looking at logfiles (they didn't make much sense to me), but seemed to be saying access was denied to the server ('actively denied it'). Lots of googling led me to believe I needed to reconfigure OEM by dropping and recreating it using:

emctl stop dbconsole
emca -deconfig dbcontrol db
emca -repos recreate

during this process I was asked for various passwords and a port number? I didn't even know what to use as the port number but guessed it was 5500 ?!? (probably wrong). As it didn't work I used the default port number that I found somewhere on the web.