6 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2012 9:14 AM by 931085

Navigate trough different "levels" in the XML starting from known element?

I am quite new to this so I must ask even if it's a stupid question...

I'm trying to build a generic oracle procedure which can insert data into a table from an XML file undependent of which message it containes but of course, the messages has the same structure.

I need to find the first element after Data, in this case "CUS_ORD_HEAD" but it could be any message like PO_HEAD.
      So I need to somehow find the element without knowing it's element-name. The same goes for CUS_ORD_LINE which could be PO_LINE. Is there any way to navigate trough the different "levels" in the XML starting from a known element.

<CustomerOrder>
      <Metadata>
      <TransActionIdentity>1</TransActionIdentity>
      </Metadata>
      <Data>
      <CUS_ORD_HEAD Customer="ABC" CustomerOrderNumber="1234">
      <CUS_ORD_LINE CustomerOrderNumber="1234" OrderedQuantity="10" ProductNumber="1001403" CustomerOrderLinePosition="1"/>
      <HAPI_CUS_ORD_LINE CustomerOrderNumber="1234" OrderedQuantity="1" ProductNumber="2530" CustomerOrderLinePosition="2"/>
      <CUS_ORD_LINE_TEXT CustomerOrderLinePosition="2" Text="Test" CUSTOMERORDERNUMBER="1234"/>
      </HAPI_CUS_ORD_HEAD>
      </Data>
      </CustomerOrder>
        • 1. Re: Navigate trough different "levels" in the XML starting from known element?
          odie_63
          Hi,
          I'm trying to build a generic oracle procedure which can insert data into a table from an XML file undependent of which message it containes but of course, the messages has the same structure.
          Generally speaking, that's not a good approach. The database works much better when everything is known before runtime.

It's doable though.
          Different approaches for different db versions. What's yours? (select * from v$version)