1 2 3 Previous Next 36 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2012 9:29 PM by Chris Muir-Oracle RSS

Installing JDeveloper on OS X Lion

user13816154
      Hi Everyone,

I'm new to programming and would like to install JDeveloper on my 13" Macbook Pro. I have the latest Lion OS, and all my software is up to date. I am extremely frustrated, perhaps because I'm a newbie and don't fully comprehend the published instructions. However, I first followed the instructions on JDeveloper manual, then after some Google, found more specific instructions from Shay.

https://blogs.oracle.com/shay/entry/installing_jdeveloper_on_mac_os

However, I get stumped on two things. The first is the "JDK Selection" which sadly I'm unable to get past that stage. The second obstacle is the fourth set of instructions, when Shay says to create that bash script. I copied and pasted it to a TextEdit window, and saved it exactly as instructed. Yet, when I hit the Terminal to execute that final piece of instruction, I get a "...No such file or directory..." response.

Can someone please help me find the easiest manner to install this software ? I'm spending hours of time, trying to figure it on my own; to no avail.

Thanks.

Pina.frederick@gmail.com
        • 1. Re: Installing JDeveloper on OS X Lion
          Timo Hahn
          You have to make sure that you have installed a local jdk at /system/library/java/javavirtualmachines/1.6.0.jdk/contents/home/bin/java.
          If you have installed your jdk at an other position you need to change the script provided by Shay.

Timo
          • 2. Re: Installing JDeveloper on OS X Lion
            user13816154
            Hi Timo,

But I don't comprehend Jack. I'm under the impression that Mac's already come installed with JDK's. So why would I need to install one ? Or should I move the one that's already installed to that location, and if so; how ?
            • 3. Re: Installing JDeveloper on OS X Lion
              Timo Hahn