This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: May 7, 2012 3:46 AM by JesúsCea RSS

QUEUES: BTREE, Queue and RECNO access methods

JesúsCea Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have an application that uses persistent queues. Currently I am using BTREEs. Performance is great because the locality of reference (writes are done at the end, reads can be "streamed"). There is only a problem: queue entries deletion.

The persistent queues can grow without bound. That is good and by design. From time to time I delete a bulk of entries at the beginning of the queue. Several millions. Here performance suffers quite a bit. The tree must be rebalanced a lot, other pages must be read for it, etc.

Investigating choices I studied QUEUE access method. Data is stored in "extends", and when all records in an extend are deleted, the extend (the file) is physically deleted. So deletes are quite fast, and the traffic is local to those pages. There is a problem, thought. A roadblock: all record must have the same size.

Then I tried RECNO. Record sizes can vary. Nice. But it doesn't use extends, so I wonder how deletes are managed. So I wrote this python test program:

"""
import bsddb3

db = bsddb3.db.DB()
db.open("z.db", dbtype=bsddb3.db.DB_RECNO, flags=bsddb3.db.DB_CREATE)

for i in xrange(1,1000000) :
db.put(i, repr(i))

for i in xrange(1, 1000000, 2) :
db.delete(i)

for i in xrange(1000000, 2000000) :
db.put(i, repr(i))

for i in xrange(2, 1000000, 2) :
db.delete(i)

for i in xrange(2000000, 3000000) :
db.put(i, repr(i))

for i in xrange(1000000, 3000000) :
db.delete(i)

for i in xrange(3000000, 6000000) :
db.put(i, repr(i))
"""

The result:

"""
filesize: 85MB

Thu Mar 15 16:42:45 2012 Local time
53162 Btree magic number
9 Btree version number
Little-endian Byte order
recno Flags
0 Fixed-length record size
0x20 Fixed-length record pad
4096 Underlying database page size
3 Number of levels in the tree
3000000 Number of records in the tree
3000000 Number of data items in the tree