This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2012 12:42 AM by ChrisJenkins RSS

When Power off in Timesten database

936666 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
I am new to Timesten database.
I gone through the articles of Timesten and i feel that it would meet our conditions.
At present we are reading the a huge file from memory,so we are looking for alternate solution by keeping the file in database and read the same,all these things should happen with fraction of second not even millisecond micro second.so i think Timesten database will help us.
But the thing is what will happen when there is a power off/crash how it will react.
How quick the data's will be written to disk.
I am having much more questions based on the current conditions where we are working.
I need to know whether Timesten database will help us in solving the problem

Thanks!!
  • 1. Re: When Power off in Timesten database
    ChrisJenkins Guru
    Although Timesten is an in-memory database it provides full persistence, durability and recoverability for data stored within it by means of a combination of checkpointing and transaction logging. TimesTen provides all the ACID properties you would expect from any database. Being a database, changes to data become persistent when the transaction that makes those changes is committed by the application.

TimesTen supports two kinds of commit; non-durable (perhaps more accurately called 'delayed durability') and durable (or 'immediate durability'). The type of commit used is controlled by a connection parameter called DurableCommits which defaults to 0 (delayed durability0 but which can be changed to 1 (immediate durability) as required. Applications can also force a specific transaction to be committed durably by calling the built in procedure ttDurableCommit within the transaction prior to committing it.