This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: May 11, 2012 9:28 AM by 874727 RSS

Installation Error - Windows Process Activation Service (WAS) and WWW Publi

874727 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I am a newbie to UPK..

Just tried installing UPK Developer Server + Client on my local machine, and hit upon the following error that I have no idea of !!

---------------------------
Service status check
Setup cannot determine if Windows Process Activation Service (WAS) and World Wide Web Publishing are installed on the computer.
Confirm that Windows Process Activation Service (WAS) and World Wide Web Publishing are installed and running on the computer.

Please select another configuration.
OK

I am using Win 7 Ultimate.. 32 bit.. ran the Installer with Administrator privileges already !!

Any help from you, in case you have the solution, would be highly appreciated.. :)

Besties..
Sahil
  • 1. Re: Installation Error - Windows Process Activation Service (WAS) and WWW Publi
    user390060 Newbie
    Hi Sahil,

Couple of things here - The server component on UPK can only be installed on Windows Server 2003 or 2008 - so it seems as if you are choosing the incorrect installation option when running the setup. There are normally a few options when you run the setup for UPK - these include the following:
    1. Developer Client
    2. Developer Server
    3. Developer Server and Client
    4. Developer Single User
    5. Knowledge Center

You should be selecting option 4 - Developer Single user. This will install all binaries required (including the database) to your local machine. This option is not used as a multi-user environment, but rather for sole use on your PC/laptop. If you intend on installing on a multi-user environment, you will need to review the Tech Specs for UPK to ensure that you meet the Hardware and Software requirements.