2 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2012 10:43 AM by rp0428 RSS

Normalization Assistance!

I am a newbie to Oracle SQL Developer. I need help in finding out how to normalize data from excel spreadsheet and then to create an entity relationship diagram after that. I have seen how to import the excel file column's, but my question is do I need to create a new table for each item such as city, state etc? There is data already inputed, but needs to be normalized I.E. 1NF, 2NF etc. Any help would be appreciated!
        • 1. Re: Normalization Assistance!
          Jim Smith
          Normalisation is not a technical issue, and is really nothing to do with SQL developer. It requires knowledge of the data and the business environment the data is intended to support.

I suggest you find a text on normalisation (I'm sure there are plenty online), and follow it through with reference to you data.

No one here can really help you. Do you need a relation for City? It depends on what you need to use the data for. If City is just part of an address, then probably not. If you need to store other information about cities you probably do. Only you can tell.
          • 2. Re: Normalization Assistance!
            rp0428
            Welcome to the forum!

Whenever you post please provide the full version number of sql developer, platform and 4 digit Oracle version (result of SELECT * FROM V$VERSION).

This question has components about normalization and entity relationships so it is a little fuzzy as to which forums might provide the best help.

This forum might have some help for both aspects but I suggest you cross-post in the General Database forum at
            General Database Discussions