Cursors are not closed when using Ref Cursor Query in a report  ORA-01000

Mostafa Abolaynain
      Dear Experts

Oracel database 11g,
      developer suite 10.1.2.0.2,
      application server 10.1.2.0.2,
      Windows xp platform

For a long time, I'm hitting ORA-01000

I have a 2 group report (master and detail) using Ref Cusor query, when this report is run, I found that it opens several cursors (should be only one cursor) for the detail query although it should not, I found that the number of these cursors is equal to the number of master records.

Moreover, after the report is finished, these cursors are not closed, and they are increasing cumulatively each time I run the report, and finally the maximum number of open cursors is exceeded, and thus I get ORA-01000.

I increased the open cursors parameter for the database to an unbeleivable value 30000, but of course it will be exceeded during the session because the cursors are increasing cumulatively.

I Found that this problem is solved when using only one master Ref Cursor Query and create a breake group, the problem is solved also if we use SQL Query instead of Ref Query for the master and detail queries, but for some considerations, I should not use neither breake group nor SQL Query, I have to use REF Cursor queries.

Is this an oracle bug , and how can I overcome ?

Thanks

Edited by: Mostafa Abolaynain on May 6, 2012 9:58 AM
        • 1. Re: Cursors are not closed when using Ref Cursor Query in a report  ORA-01000
          InoL
          I Found that this problem is solved when using a breake group report, but for some considerations, I should not use breake group report, I have to use REF Cursor queries.
          Since this is a master-detail report, I don't see why you can't create a break report. Here is a master-detail Group Above report using ref cursors:
          http://docs.oracle.com/html/B10602_01/orbr_refcur.htm