This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: May 19, 2012 7:47 AM by matthew_morris RSS

Oracle Administration Certification Exam.

938416 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi , I am a bit confused regarding which version of Oracle DBA certification exam(OCA) shall i appear for , there is 10g and 11g and some of my friend told me 11g
is yet to be used in large corporations.
I am new to oracle and IMO i should appear for 10g.

Kindly advice.
  • 1. Re: Oracle Administration Certification Exam.
    HuaMin Chen Pro
    Refer to this
    http://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=50&p_org_id=1001&lang=US
  • 2. Re: Oracle Administration Certification Exam.
    Aman.... Oracle ACE
    935413 wrote:
    Hi , I am a bit confused regarding which version of Oracle DBA certification exam(OCA) shall i appear for , there is 10g and 11g and some of my friend told me 11g
    is yet to be used in large corporations.
    I am new to oracle and IMO i should appear for 10g.

Kindly advice.
    Actually, if you are new to Oracle , you should start from at least 9i where things were a lot more in your control. But now, since 11.2 is the latest release and both exams and training is offered for it, IMHO you should choose this.

Aman....
  • 3. Re: Oracle Administration Certification Exam.
    938416 Newbie
    Hi Aman,

Thanks for ur advice ...

Will it be necessary to take training classes ?
    I have experience in 3 other DB and some of my friends are insisting on learning it myself

Any comment ?
  • 4. Re: Oracle Administration Certification Exam.
    matthew_morris Expert
    There are arguments in favor of both 10G and 11G. I can provide some of them, but you have to be the one to decide which is better for you.