This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 24, 2013 7:22 AM by Fernando dRG RSS

Adding Root-Level Webcat Folders

Mark T. Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
When working in Analytics, logged in as an admin, I can switch between the 'User View' and 'Admin View' of the folders by selecting from the dropdown list immediately below the Catalog tab.

In Admin View, I can click to highlight Catalog Root, and I can use the 'New Folder' icon to create a new folder underneath it, so that the new folder is a sibling of Shared Folders and User Folders. It's visible in Catalog Manager, it's visible in the file system. I've set the permissions to Full Control for Authenticated User.

My question: is that folder actually useable? Even though I can see it a bunch of other ways, the 'Save As' dialog doesn't seem to know that it exists, because I can't select it. Neither can I see it using the Open icon. Neither is it visible in the Catalog in User View. It exists, but Answers doesn't seem to be able to see it.

The goal is to have one root-level folder for each of our subsidiary companies (we're the parent company). Our desire is to not give access to "Shared Folders" to any of those subsidiaries, but to let them have their own root-level folder.

So again, we can set up a folder under Catalog Root. But is there really any point in doing so?

Working in 11.1.1.6 on Windows.
  • 1. Re: Adding Root-Level Webcat Folders
    Dhar Expert
    Hi Mark,

As per my understanding and observation, System,Shared and Users folders only have been the OBIPS favorites from 10g.

I remembering pasting my dashboards directly under root (/) folder and running though all of my dashboards looking for it. Even the documentation http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E23943_01/bi.1111/e10541/prescatadmin.htm#CJGHBGEG (Even in 10g even if I remember correctly) talks about these three folders only.