3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 5, 2012 1:19 PM by 939774 RSS

Configuration and administration best practice

I am new to WebLogic and AppServers in general; I work on a team that is migrating an existing application to be a Web application (support for WebLogic and JBoss are planned). Sorry for the long post by I felt this was needed for the readers to well understand the problem.

The questions:

- Is there a set of best practices or perhaps standard ways for administrators to configure their deployments. By configuring, I mean providing application-specific options to an application to be deployed?
      - Are there any UI to help them do so?

As the above questions are pretty generic, I provide below some insight on what I looked at, hoping it will help people to better understand my aim.

Main technical solutions I have found up to now:

Embedding configuration files into the ear or war:
      - Explanation: it covers different possibilities, for example putting "context-param" tags into the web.xml or providing a "foo.properties" files in the archive.
      - Pros: easy from the developer point of view.
      - Cons: Burden is on the admin, the admin needs to unpack the war, change the files, repack the war to change a single parameter. An external tool with UI could also be provided for these operations but in this case it means more development time. In addition, having the admin modify the archive even through a tool, is not something reassuring from a maintenance perspective.

Using an external source of data
      - Explanation: Having something like a JNDI classname/url passed to the app (for example through "context-param"). The JNDI would contain mapping from option keys to values and would be read by the application at deployment time to overwrite default option values.
      - Pros: An administration tool fully decoupled from the application can be run to update the JNDI and change configuration in an easy way for the administrator.