This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: May 28, 2012 12:42 PM by 939995 RSS

Applications for resale

939995 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to Apex and have a lot of questions so please bare with me. I run a Micro ISV and I am looking for a RAD tool to build intranet applications that I will sell on the internet. I would like to use Oracle Database 11g Express Edition and Apex to accomplish this. I can't imagine any of my customers ever being able or willing to purchase the license for the regular addition on the Oracle database. All of my applications would of the CRUD variety.

Here are my questions...

1. Does the license for Oracle Database 11g Express Edition and Apex allow this?

2. What are the chances of the Oracle Database 11g Express Edition and / or Apex being discontinued?

3. Could I provide a download of Oracle Database 11g Express Edition at my website or would my customer have to download it from Oracle's website?

4. Last but not least... is this a good tool for what I propose ?

Thanks and please answer as many of these questions as you can...I need the feedback!!!
dodge78
  • 1. Re: Applications for resale
    TexasApexDeveloper Guru
    I would suggest looking at using a hosting company like revion.com or enciva.com.. There you can have your customers get a hosted instance of a SUPPORTED database (11g XE is NOT truly supported). The hosting company would charge you between $40-$60 a month and they maintain the database and servers...

You build your apex application, they have a workspace to store the application and data, and if you like they can even have a domain point to the APEX workspace & application you build..

Ask away of you have more questions...

Thank you,

Tony Miller
    Dallas, TX
  • 2. Re: Applications for resale
    939995 Newbie
    Thanks Tony for replying.