This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 3, 2012 8:27 AM by 869679 RSS

Build a RESTful web service

869679 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello everyone,

I am quite new with RESTful web services (not with SOAP-based WS), but I have been reading and researching a lot. The point is that there are a lot of tools and frameworks and I am confused.

I have to build a RESTful web service that retrieve an Employee resource in XML and JSON formats. Data for the Employee resources are given in txt files and the schema for the XML response "employee.xsd" is also given.

I have to use Java.

Any idea where can I start from?

Thanks in advance
  • 1. Re: Build a RESTful web service
    r035198x Pro
    Do you already have a target container that you are going to deploy this at?
    If so then start by checking the docs for the provider they ship with and see if it's going to meet your requirements.
  • 2. Re: Build a RESTful web service
    gimbal2 Guru
    The first step is to pick a JAX-RS implementation and stick with it. If you don't want to research them then stick with the reference implementation, which is called Jersey. Of course if you're using a JEE6 compliant application server, JAX-RS is already in there so you may want to stick with the implementation that is provided.

From there it is a matter of making the documentation your own and creating some test setups to get a feel for it. A good book will also help immensely of course.
  • 3. Re: Build a RESTful web service
    869679 Newbie
    Thanks for your answers.

No, I don't have any target container. In fact, I have the option to consider any open source framework, libraries or any standard JSR-XXX, but I have to take into account the software design, testability and maintainability of my code.

I should build the RESTful web service with production quality and explain the chosen technologies.