This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 13, 2012 2:51 PM by Fabricio_Jorge RSS

Some ASM doubts

Fabricio_Jorge Explorer
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

As i am studying for the OCP exam, i realized that i have some doubts about the OCP subject that i have less experience: ASM.

I've installed Grid Infrastructure (11.2) on a VM (CentOS 5.5) successfully. I also mounted a diskgroup (with 4 disk, normal redundancy) successfully. At this point my doubts began to rise:

1) When i connect as sysasm on the asm instance, and issue an "startup" on SQL*Plus, the following warning appears: "ORA-00099: no parameter file specified for ASM instance". I understood the warning... i don't have a SPFILE associated to my ASM instance (on $GRID_HOME/dbs). I did some researches but i coudn't find an answer: Shouldn't Oracle had to create for me a PFILE/SPFILE? I've tryied to create an SPFILE, but i'm not for sure what are the essential parameters for a ASM SPFILE.

2) When a execute the following query:
select status from v$instance
... the result is "started". When i try to open the ASM instance, is says that: "ORA-15000: command disallowed by current instance type"... based os this result i ask: An ASM instance cannot be mounted/opened?

Sorry for the aparently silly question...

Every help/opinion will be very helpful to me. Tanhks a lot.
  • 1. Re: Some ASM doubts
    Levi-Pereira Guru
    Fabricio_Jorge wrote:
    Hello,

As i am studying for the OCP exam, i realized that i have some doubts about the OCP subject that i have less experience: ASM.

I've installed Grid Infrastructure (11.2) on a VM (CentOS 5.5) successfully. I also mounted a diskgroup (with 4 disk, normal redundancy) successfully. At this point my doubts began to rise: