7 Replies Latest reply: Jun 12, 2012 3:16 PM by Peter Hartgerink RSS

Installing Oracle Linux 5.2 on VBox (for XE 11.2)

Peter Hartgerink
      Problem :
      I am running Win7 x64 on my laptop.

Want to install XE 11.2 but it doesn't support 64 bit Windows

Solution :
      Install VBox
      Install Oracle Linux 5.2 as guest OS inside VBox
      Install XE 11.2 on Linux platform

Question :
      Is there an installation guide for Oracle Linux 5.x? I have not found any installation guides or any other documentation for Oracle Linux in the Technet documentation library.

This is my first time installing any flavour of Linux. There are quite a few options and I'm not always sure what is the best one to choose. An installation guide would be helpful.
        • 1. Re: Installing Oracle Linux 5.2 on VBox (for XE 11.2)
          If you have VirtualBox installed on your machine, you can then mount the Oracle Linux ISO image in VirtualBox and start the installation. Follow the steps:

1) Start VirtualBox, Click the "New" icon.

2) Just follow the wizard to configure your virtual machine.

3) Select your newly created virtual machine and click the "Settings" icon.

4) Change the boot order to boot from CD/DVD. Then go to Storage and Select the image that looks like a CD. On the right you can then click the CD in the "Attributes" area. It will pop up "Choose a virtual CD/DVD disk file...", so you then point it to the Oracle Linux ISO image you downloaded.

5) Then start the Virtual Machine by clicking the "Start" icon (ie. the one on the right hand side of the "Settings" icon).

6) You should be able to install Oracle Linux by following the wizard. Usually the default value works, or you can always use Google to Google it, or you can use Bing to Google it.

Just follow the steps above and report back if you have further issues...
          • 2. Re: Installing Oracle Linux 5.2 on VBox (for XE 11.2)
            Peter Hartgerink