11 Replies Latest reply: Jun 14, 2012 5:34 PM by user13131199 RSS

replace Oracle Workshop for Weblogic with OEPE?

user13131199
      Hi,

I've been working with Oracle Workshop for Weblogic for over 3 years and it isn't working as well as I hoped. I recently heard about OEPE and thought it might work as a drop-in replacement for OWfW.
      Here is the technology stack that I currently rely on OWfW for development:

Weblogic Server 10.3.0
      Weblogic Portal 10.3.0
      ODSI
      OSB

I develop portals/portlets, pageflow applications, web services, dataspaces, and OSB artifacts with OWfW.

So, I downloaded Eclipse 3.7 (Indigo) and used the Eclipse Update Manager to install OEPE:

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E27086_02/help/oracle.eclipse.tools.common.doc/html/install.html#update_manager

I selected every possible component and didn't leave any option unchecked for the install.

Now, as I mentioned, I already have the servers installed (WLS, WLP, ODSI, OSB). I was hoping that OEPE would give me the same ability to develop an ODSI dataspace, for example, as OWfW...but it appears it doesn't. Actually, I can't find any tooling support for WLP, ODSI, or OSB.
      Can someone confirm that the tooling support for these technologies is missing in OEPE?

I read this link:

https://blogs.oracle.com/middleware/entry/installing_eclipse_for_osb_development

which suggests that Eclipse can be used for OSB development but, as I understand it, it requires me to install OEPE in a different way (along with Weblogic Server). Furthermore, I don't want to install Weblogic Server 11g because I already have all the servers installed that I want to use.

Can I get some advice on how to proceed?
      Thanks...

Kevin
        • 1. Re: replace Oracle Workshop for Weblogic with OEPE?
          Kosta-Oracle