3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 5, 2012 10:47 AM by Runndn2-Oracle RSS

What is the Account and Contact workflow or best practice?

I'm just learning the use of the web services. I have written something to upload my customers into accounts using the web services. I need to now include a contact for each account. I'm trying to understand the workflow. It looks like I need to first call the web service to create the account, then call a separate web service to create the contact and include the account's ID with the contact to that they are linked, is this correct?

Is there a place I can go to find the "best practices" for work flows?

Can I automatically create the contact within my call to create the account in the web service?

Thanks,
        • 1. Re: What is the Account and Contact workflow or best practice?
          Runndn2-Oracle
          When you say 'workflow' are you talking about CRMOD workflows?

What I think you are saying is you are trying to create a account with a contact at the same time with a web service call - and no CRMOD workflows are involved.
          • 2. Re: What is the Account and Contact workflow or best practice?
            Probably a poor choice of words. Sorry.

So basically, I have gotten further, but I just noticed related problem.

I'm using the WebServices(WS) 1.0. I insert an account, then, on a separate WS call, I insert my contacts for the account. I include the AccountID, and a user defined key from the Account when creating the Contact.

When I look at my Contact on the CRMOD web page, it shows the appropriate links back to the Account. But when I look at my Account on the CRMOD web page, it shows no Contacts.

So when I say workflow or Best Practice, I was hoping for guidance on how to properly write my code to accomplish all of the necessary steps. As in this is how you insert an account with a contact(s) and it updates the appropriate IDs so that it shows up properly on the CRMOD web pages.