13 Replies Latest reply: Jul 10, 2012 4:55 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias RSS

Hot to print the whole query with prepared statement

LinoPisto

Hi all

i'm quite new to java, i have a question about prepared statements

my company uses something like this:

String sqlQuery = "select * from my_table where columnA = (?) and columnB = (?)";
      log4Debug.debug( "Query = " + sqlQuery );
      preparedStatement = connection.prepareStatement(sqlQuery);
      preparedStatement.setString(1,"valueA");
      preparedStatement.setString(2,"valueB");

but in the log i have no trace made by the replacements in the preparedstaments, in fact i will see:
      select * from my_table where columnA = (?) and columnB = (?)

the solution i need is the one that allows me to print in the log the whole query with the replacements, in other words

select * from my_table where columnA = 'valueA' and columnB = 'valueB'

at the moment i have red preparedstatements documentation and other forums but i found no way to achieve that result.

please help me.

Thank you all.

• 1. Re: Hot to print the whole query with prepared statement
          gimbal2
          There is no API way to do it. PERHAPS there is some trace logging support built into the JDBC driver itself, but then you'd have to check the documentation of said driver.
          • 2. Re: Hot to print the whole query with prepared statement
            I think you might be interested in reading up on log4jdbc (http://code.google.com/p/log4jdbc/). If its not to your liking, the article lists other loggers at the bottom of the article.