1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: Jul 12, 2012 3:43 PM by Hussein Sawwan-Oracle RSS

EBS R12.1.1 databse copy windows to windows??

Hi All,

I am a report developer. I have two servers(VMs)

Server1: Win 2008, Oracle EBS R12.1.1.
      Server2: Win XP SP3, about to install Oracle 11g R1

My goal is to copy the whole EBS R12.1.1 Vision Instance database (VIS) on Server1 to Server 2 Oracle Database....And please not that I need only data in those schemas - I use that to run ETL scripts, so, on Server2 I am not going to run any EBS Applications(Forms, or reports or others).

In order to do this I am thinking of using http://www.dba-oracle.com/oracle_tips_db_copy.htm, or RMAN method....

Now my questions are:
      1. Can I used any of the above methods?
      2. If yes, For both the above methods, during the installation of Target Database (Server 2) do I need to select "Create Starter Database (Additional 1482MB)" option? I am in a great disk space crisis so, I prefer not to select that option, but can I follow above clone methods with out creating a starter database in the target system?

Thanks and regards.
        • 1. Re: EBS R12.1.1 databse copy windows to windows??
          Hussein Sawwan-Oracle
          My goal is to copy the whole EBS R12.1.1 Vision Instance database (VIS) on Server1 to Server 2 Oracle Database....And please not that I need only data in those schemas - I use that to run ETL scripts, so, on Server2 I am not going to run any EBS Applications(Forms, or reports or others).

In order to do this I am thinking of using http://www.dba-oracle.com/oracle_tips_db_copy.htm, or RMAN method....

Now my questions are:
          1. Can I used any of the above methods?
          Yes, but if you are not familiar with RMAN or backup/recovery methods this may not be easy (or straightforward) for you.