This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 22, 2012 9:01 AM by sabre150 RSS

java applet-incompatible magic number 218774561

950754 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello, i am quite new in java and i ' ve been trying for a week to find out how to solve error incompatible magic number 218774561.

the code of my applet and my html is shown right down here:

import java.awt.*;
import javax.swing.*;
import java.applet.*;

public class appletImage extends JApplet{
MediaTracker tr;
Image img;

imagePanel panel;
public void init()
{

img = getImage(getCodeBase(), "space7.gif");
tr = new MediaTracker(this);

tr.addImage(img,0);
panel = new imagePanel(img);

setLayout(new BorderLayout());
add(panel);
}

class imagePanel extends JPanel{
private Image image;
imagePanel(Image img){super(); this.image=img;}

public void paintComponent(Graphics g) {
super.paintComponent(g);

g.drawImage(image, 0, 0, this);
}
}
}

and my html code is:

<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Image Applet</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<applet codebase="." code="appletImage.class" height="500" width="400">
</applet>
</BODY>
</HTML>

In my local server it works fine but in webserver(000webhost.com) NO!!!!!

The strange thing is that when i use the below code everything work in web server.

import java.awt.*;
import javax.swing.*;
import java.applet.*;
import java.applet.Applet.*;

public class appletImage extends Applet{
     Image img;
     MediaTracker tr;
     public void paint(Graphics g) {
          tr = new MediaTracker(this);
          img = getImage(getCodeBase(), "space7.gif");
          tr.addImage(img,0);
          g.drawImage(img, 0, 0, this);
     }
}

So the problem is that an error occurs when i make an instance of JPanel that draws the image...

I have checked the CAFEBABE HEX code of my .class file
i have put permissions through server

and..

i don't know what else to do!!!!!

Please help my head is going to explore!!!!!