1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Aug 6, 2012 2:09 PM by Srini Chavali-Oracle RSS

Start Oracle 11g server

Hi,

I am new to Oracle database 11g. I just installed Oracle 11g and sql developer into my laptop (running Win 7).

Please note, I have not installed SQL plus.
      What to do next? like...

i. how to turn ON the database server.
      ii. how to map sql developer with this oracle 11g database.

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks in advance.

Krishnakanth Manivannan
        • 1. Re: Start Oracle 11g server
          sybrand_b
          Do people currently don't read manuals anymore?
          All the documentation is here http://www.oracle.com/pls/db112/homepage
          And please read documentation before you ask anything. This is not a chatroom.

-----------
          Sybrand Bakker
          Senior Oracle DBA
          • 2. Re: Start Oracle 11g server
            Bobby Durrett
            The database and listener are services which are set to automatically startup when you reboot. Just find the services that start with Oracle and make sure they are started.

You should be able to connect to localhost port 1521 once your database and listener services are up. Database should be ORCL.

- Bobby
            • 3. Re: Start Oracle 11g server
              Paulie
              >

Hi Krishnakanth, and welcome to these forums.

I am new to Oracle database 11g. I just installed Oracle 11g and sql developer into my laptop (running Win 7).
              Please note, I have not installed SQL plus.
              What to do next? like...
              i. how to turn ON the database server.
              ii. how to map sql developer with this oracle 11g database.
              SQL*Plus should have been installed along with the server. Check your Oracle folder in your
              start menu in Programs.

The server should be running as a process in the background - if it's not, something is wrong with your install.