3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 26, 2012 1:41 AM by Catch-22 RSS

OEL 6.2 - local yum repository, oracle-rdbms-server-11gR2-preinstall

Simon Holt
      I'm attempting to set up a sandbox to evaluate OEL as a platform for 11G. I'm very new to OEL itself, and have found the installation "challenging" ;-)

The main difficulty I am having right now is trying to get the oracle-rdbms-server-11gR2-preinstall rpm to become visible to yum so I can use it.

Please note that this sandbox is not connected to the internet, and never will be due to local policy - so the public yum repository is not an option. Also, since we are just evaluating this at present, we don't have a ULN login. The only available method of obtaining later rpms than that which was available on the OEL6.2 install media is to download them from the oss.oracle.com site and then transfer them. Furthermore, OEL6 install media does not include the package.

Here is what I have done so far:

1: Install OEL6.2 from DVD
      2: Copied the rpms from the DVD to a directory, and created a local repository using the createrepo command
      3: Cleared the yum cache (yum clean all), followed by yum makecache - the expected list of rpms appear under the local repository using yum list available
      4: Obtained the oracle-rdbms-server-11gR2-preinstall-1.0-6.el6.src.rpm from the oss.oracle.com site, and transferred it to the local repository directory.
      5: Re-created the repository info via createrepo, then cleaned the yum info and reloaded it.

Now, although I see the createrepo command output find and list the oracle..rpm, it doesn't appear in the yum list of available packages. I can't find it by using "yum search all" (using any sort of search terms!), and have refreshed / reloaded the repository several times but to no avail.