6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 9, 2012 5:00 AM by pradip010189 RSS

ASM COMPLETE REMOVAL

Hi Gurus,

This is my first attempt in RAC installation. I have finished CRS and Oracle Software installations successfully in both nodes. Now I am configuring ASM before database creation.

I use DBCA for ASM creation. Unfortunately, this is an unsuccessful attempt of ASM creation. So I need to configure again. BUT I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO MAKE A COMPLETE REMOVAL OF THE ASM FILES AND ENTRIES before making a re-install.

I removed the ASM pfile & others from ~/dbs/ and ~/db_1/admin locations. I used ps -ef|grep asm to remove the asm processes, I removed oratab entry of ASM but still when configuring again, Oracle detects the old instance and asks if it should recreate it. If given yes and make some asm entries, then a new little window goes on running saying that "ASM Disk Group Creation...." It is running for 2 hours now.

I like to remove the old ASM completely and make a really fresh install.

Please guide me Gurus...

For information, the Oracle version is 10.2.0.1 and platform is OEL5.

Vimal.

Edited by: 915421 on Jul 27, 2012 9:37 PM
        • 1. Re: ASM COMPLETE REMOVAL
          onedbguru
          Is this 10g a mandatory or can you install 11gR2 - The management is MUCH more simple. You can even use 11gR2 GRID+ASM on a 10g database, so my advice is to install 11gR2 GRID+ASM. ASM is installed as a part of GRID and you no longer "create" an ASM instance like 10g. The installer will do it for you.

Now, if you want to completely start over with ASM and you need to erase the devices:

dd if=/dev/zero of=<ASMdiskPartition> bs=8192 count=100 on ALL of the ASM devices. WARNING, THIS WILL COMPLETELY ERASE THESE DEVICES.

There is a note in MOS that describes how to completely remove clusterware.
          • 2. Re: ASM COMPLETE REMOVAL
            Hi onedbguru,