11 Replies Latest reply: Aug 1, 2012 7:04 AM by EdStevens RSS

Oracle 10g configuration Kindly give your suggestions

Hi Gurus,

I am an oracle developer. Planning to switch myself as ORACLE DBA. it is very intersting to study the oracle internal. i need to have some practical analysis.

Kindly help me for below queries

1) Planning to install Oracle enterprise edition. kindly tell me the configuration details for installing oracle 10g or oracle 9i in the laptop. I need the RAM configuration and DISK memory configuration requirment details.

2) Laptop is better or desktop?

Kindly give me your advise and tips that will be veryhelpfull for me as ORACLE dba.

kINDLY REPLY
      s
        • 1. Re: Oracle 10g configuration Kindly give your suggestions
          Osama_Mustafa
          if you are planning to Study and start as DBA , I suggest to install Database on vmware and you can install oracle XE database since its free and no need for license. about configuration its depend on hardware specification

Edited by: Osama-mustafa on Aug 1, 2012 9:09 AM
          • 2. Re: Oracle 10g configuration Kindly give your suggestions
            THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY.

One of my collegue who installed oracle9i was very slow because of RAM speed(532MB). I believe we need atleast 2GB for good performance.

Kindly give more suggestions

S
            • 3. Re: Oracle 10g configuration Kindly give your suggestions
              Osama_Mustafa
              -what his database used for ?
              • 4. Re: Oracle 10g configuration Kindly give your suggestions
                he installed oracle9i enterprise edition
                • 5. Re: Oracle 10g configuration Kindly give your suggestions
                  Osama_Mustafa
                  oraclehema wrote:
                  he installed oracle9i enterprise edition
                  back to this thread :
                  Slow Performance Oracle 9i

532MB its too low for oracle.