This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply: Aug 3, 2012 11:00 AM by jgarry RSS

Database Tuning

953640 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
hi, i'm new to oracle and my superior ask me to do some database tuning for him
(Performance Tunig, SQL Tuning, Etc)
so i'm wondering what should i do first to do Database Tuning.

i can do the SQL tuning just fine, but since it is the first time i touch the configuration(example : tablespace, redo log, etc)
i don't know what should i do first.

can anyone give me helpful tips or step by step to do it
  • 1. Re: Database Tuning
    rp0428 Guru
    Welcome to the forum!

First thing to do is read the FAQ for how to post a tuning request and the information you need to provide.
    >
    hi, i'm new to oracle and my superior ask me to do some database tuning for him
    >
    That's gotta be one of the most ridiculous things I've ever heard.

The first rule of tuning is: if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

You don't just decide to tune a database. There has to be some reason for thinking that there is anything that even needs tuned.

Ask your superior

1. Why do they think anything needs tuned?
    2. What is the list of things that they think need tuned?
    3. Why do they think that those things need to be tuned?
    4. Why are you even asking me to do such a ridiculous thing when there is no rhyme or reason for it?

Ok, for #4 maybe you should just think that one to yourself. But the others are legitimate questions that you should ask before you do anything. And be sure to document the answers so you don't get left holding the bag when it turns out there wasn't any tuning to do.
  • 2. Re: Database Tuning
    Pavel Explorer
    Hello

take a look at
    Re: Oracle database Performance testing

Regards,
    Pavel
  • 3. Re: Database Tuning
    sb92075 Guru
    HOW To Make TUNING request
    SQL and PL/SQL FAQ
  • 4. Re: Database Tuning
    953640 Newbie
    that just it, i don't know where to start tuning