This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 8, 2013 4:21 PM by Andy1785 RSS

Combine data from two grid to one

Andy1785 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I am new to Hyperion Financial Reporting. I nned some help with a report that I am trying to generate. Following are the details :

Grid 1 : ( Built from Essbase 11.1.1.3)

Account Type, Amount

101, 123,000
102, 145,650
103, 100

Grid 2: (Built from HFM 11.1.1.3)

Account Type, Amount

101, 123,000
102, 145,000
104, 200

Above two grids are ready but i want to achieve the following :

Grid 3 (Main)

Account Type, Grid 1 Amount, Grid 2 Amount, Difference

101, 123,000 , 123,000, *0*
102, 145,650 , 145,000, *650 *
*103*, 100 , , *100*
*104,* , 200 , *200*

Also if we can somehow achieve this in grid 1 or 2 , that is also fine. Also if needed we can hide Grid 1 and 2. Please advice if this is do able or not.

Any help/suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks.
  • 1. Re: Combine data from two grid to one
    Stuart Game Journeyer
    Hi

There are several ways to do this and the best approach will depend upon the answer to a few questions:

1. Does your report contain fixed members or are you using functions that return a variable number of members, e.g. Children / Descendants?
    2. Is the dimensionality the same between the two data sources?

Option 1:- Best if answer to qn 1 is 'Fixed'
    Create two grids, one connected to Essbase the other to HFM.
    Use formula rows / column to pull the data from one grid to the other, this can be done by entering syntax such as Grid1.[A,1] in the formula